September 18, 2000

Minister of Economy and Finance Bamako Republic of Mali

Re: Credit No. 3393 MLI Development Credit Agreement (Article I, Section 1.01 (a)) (National Rural Insfrastructure Project) List of Participating Countries

Excellency:

We refer to the Development Credit Agreement (the Agreement) of even date herewith between Republic of Mali (the Borrower) and International Development Association (the Association) and, particularly, to the definition of "Participating Countries" to be found in Section 1.01(a) thereof.

We have to inform you that, for purposes of the Agreement, the following countries are not "Participating Countries" and, therefore, not eligible to supply goods and services under the Credit:

Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Brunei Darussalam, Cyprus, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Singapore, and United Arab Emirates.

This list of ineligible countries is in addition to the list of ineligible countries under paragraphs 1.6 and 1.8 of the "Guidelines for Procurement under IBRD Loans and IDA Credits" published by the Bank in January 1995 and revised in January and August 1996 and September 1997 (the Guidelines).

In accordance with the operational policies of the Association, the term "ineligible countries" applies both to the nationality of bidders, and to the source of goods and services provided.

Sincerely yours,

INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION

By /s/ Callisto Madavo Regional Vice President Africa

CONFIRMED:

REPUBLIC OF MALI

By /s/ Cheick Oumar Diarra
Authorized Representative