September 10, 2001

His Excellency Assoumany Aboudou Minister of Finance, Budget and Privatization Ministry of Finance, Budget and Privatization Moroni Islamic Federal Republic of the Comoros

> Re: Credit No.3563COM (Emergency Economic Recovery Credit) Development Credit Agreement (Article I, Section 1.01 (a) ) List of Participating Countries

Excellency:

We refer to the Development Credit Agreement (the Agreement) of even date herewith between the Islamic Federal Republic of the Comoros (the Borrower) and the International Development Association (the Association) and, more particularly, to the definition of "Participating Countries" to be found in Section 1.01 (a) thereof.

We have to inform you that, for purposes of the Agreement, the following countries are not "Participating Countries" and, therefore, not eligible to supply goods and services under the Credit: The Bahamas, Bahrain, Brunei Darussalam, Cyprus, Oman, Qatar, Singapore and United Arab Emirates. This list of ineligible countries is in addition to the list of ineligible countries under paragraphs 1.6 and 1.8 of the "Guidelines for Procurement under IBRD Loans and IDA Credits" published by the Bank in January 1995 and revised in January and August 1996, September 1997 and January 1999 (the Guidelines).

In accordance with the operational policies of the Association, the term "ineligible countries" applies both to the nationality of bidders, and to the source of goods and services provided.

Please confirm your agreement to the foregoing by signing the enclosed copy of this letter and returning it to us for our records.

Sincerely yours,

INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION

By /s/ Hafez Ghanem Acting Regional Vice President Africa

CONFIRMED AND AGREED:

ISLAMIC FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF THE COMOROS

By /s/ Azali Assoumani Authorized Representative